Mandated Reporter Info
Effective July 1, 2012, Georgia law has expanded the list of people
mandated (law-bound) to report suspected child abuse or neglect. All
child service organization personnel (both employees and volunteers)
are now mandated reporters. The law requires that mandated reporters,
“having reasonable cause to believe that a child has been abused,
shall report or cause reports of that abuse to be made.”
Each Girl Scouts of Historic Georgia volunteer must sign the Acknowledgement of Responsibility form indicating that you are aware that you are a mandated reporter. Please submit your signed form to your Membership Manager.
The Governor’s Office for Children and Families (GOCF) sponsors a free, online training course, provided through ProSolutions Training, that details the law and its recent changes, discusses warning signs that can indicate if a child is being abused or neglected, and explains your role in reporting suspected child abuse. You can access it online at https://www.gocftrainingonline.com.
Please review the Child Protective Services fact sheet on child abuse and neglect.
Reporting – Child in Immediate Danger:
If a staff member or volunteer witnesses a situation in which a child is in immediate danger, they should call 911 immediately, then report the situation to the council by calling the GSHG emergency hotline, 1-866-236-7944.
Reporting – Child not in Immediate Danger:
Staff members who witness or suspect child abuse or neglect , or receive a report of same from a volunteer, must report it within 24 hours by calling the GSHG emergency hotline, 1-866-236-7944.
Volunteers who witness or suspect child abuse or neglect must report it within 24 hours by calling the GSHG emergency hotline, 1-866-236-7944. The Council emergency contact provider will take the information from the caller and notify the Leadership Team member on call to follow up and ensure the proper agency is notified.
*New: In addition to making a report by phone OR emailing or faxing the Georgia Mandated Reporters Form, you now have the option to submit a report online. As of August 4, 2014, DFCS has launched a new website that will allow you to complete the Georgia Mandated Reporters Form online and submit electronically. This new online form requires a private access code and you can download the list of codes by clicking here .
Any individuals completing the online Georgia mandated reporters course after August 4, 2014 will receive a link to the online form and access codes in the course. Please Note: If you make a report electronically, you do not need to make an additional report by phone.
Our highest priority is the safety of our members. Reporting suspected child abuse is the right thing to do. Failure to report within 24 hours may result in a criminal misdemeanor charge against you and/or action by GSHG.
Thank you for doing everything you can to protect the safety of our girls.
CHILD ABUSE REPORTING AGENCIES:
Department of Human Services
Division of Family and Children Services
Georgia Protective Office
#2 Peachtree Street, NW, Suite 29213
Atlanta, GA 30303
To report child abuse: Please call the DFCS Child Protective Center at: 1-855-GACHILD / 1-855-422-4453. Reports are taken 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If you have an immediate emergency, please call 911 or your local police department.
Department of Social Services
State Child Protective and Preventive Services
1535 Confederate Avenue
Columbia, SC 29202
Fax: (803) 734-5670
Department of Human Services
Bureau of Family and Children Services
1321 Fifth Avenue South
P0 Box 11926
Birmingham, AL 35202-1926
Fax: (205) 933-1942